Products Technical Information News Dealers Motorsports Application Guide

News Articles
Red Line Driver Jimmy Owens Wins Lucas Late Model Championship

After taking 2nd in an epic battle with Scott Bloomquist at Atomic Speedway in Alma, Ohio, Owens accumulated enough points to win his first championship title.

Alma, Ohio (Oct 2011) - The culmination of a terrific point battle between Jimmy Owens and Scott Bloomquist concluded on Saturday, October 15 at the newly renamed Atomic Speedway in Alma, Ohio and Jimmy walked away with his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship! The 31st Annual 'Dirt Track World Championship' took place on Saturday at Atomic following a rain-out of the preliminary action on Friday evening. When qualifying finally got underway on Saturday afternoon, Jimmy laid down the quickest lap of the 90 entrants to earn fast time honors and an extra ten bonus points.

"You've got to be consistent to win this thing, top five finishes are so important, you've got to able to capitalize when someone else has misfortune, that's part of it," said Owens, who won eight events on the circuit. "To say we beat Scott Bloomquist, means a lot, he builds a great race car. I know we went back-and-forth all year in the points battle. My crew worked their tails off all year. We are glad to be celebrating after this race."

Heat races were then held at the 3/8-mile facility and Jimmy won his prelim to claim the outside front row starting spot for the $50,000 to win 'Dirt Track World Championship.' With deteriorating track conditions throughout the day, coupled with no track prep, the 100-lap main event featured virtually no passing. Jimmy pulled right in line behind polesitter Don O'Neal at the drop of the green flag and followed the Martinsville, Indiana native for all 100 circuits. The driver known as the "Newport Nightmare ©" wound up a strong second in the DTWC, which was plenty good enough to give him the point title over Scott Bloomquist, who finished fourth in the final rundown.

For Owens, it was the 39-year-old's first series title after finishing runner-up the last two years to Bloomquist.